Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2021 / 2020 / 2019 / 2018 / 2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.


woensdag 03 juni 2009

Release: 2008-12-01
Style: crustcore
Website: /
Playing Time: 36:44
Cat. N°:
Review by: Olivier
Translated by: Olivier
Rating: 8/10


I always look forward to a new album by Extreme Noise Terror, because these founders of the crust-core genre give the fans on most records worth for their money. There is no difference on this CD. In a furious pace nineteen songs are played that seem to hit you like grenades. On this album the band clearly returns to her old sound, with the emphasis on punk, hardcore and grind, and less metal. Without fringes and with the accelerator pressed from the beginning, songs like ‘Religion Is Fear’, ‘Skin Deep’ and ‘Blind Lead The Blind’ remind of the early ENT-records. Also textual the band sticks with the old (left) socio-political topics, but in these times of economical crisis we better leave that aside?

The record has a heavy production that leaves all the instruments in their value. The numerous line-up changes haven’t always been good for ENT’s musical coherence, but ‘Law of Retaliation’ has a well balanced sound. It is long ago that the duo-vocals by Phil Vane and Dean Jones sounded so impressive. In ‘Parasites” and ‘Rotten To The Core’ they sound like a bunch of unleashed lunatics. The record brings back the energy of the old days. The guitar riffs and extremely fast drumming are of course no longer a surprise, but should we really complain about everything? Extreme Noise Terror proves on this album that it remains a band with balls and that they remain faithful to the fans. Only for that reason they deserve respect and for the fans ‘Law Of Retaliation’ is worth a blind buy!


Het is altijd uitkijken naar een nieuw album van Extreme Noise Terror, want deze grondleggers van de crustcore geven de fans op hun meeste platen waar voor hun geld. Dat is op ‘Law of Retaliation’ niet anders. In een razend tempo worden negentien songs afgewerkt die je als granaten om de oren vliegen. Op deze plaat heeft de band duidelijk haar oude sound terug gevonden, waarbij de nadruk vooral op punk, hardcore en grind ligt en minder op metal. Zonder franjes wordt vanaf het begin het gaspedaal vol ingedrukt met nummers als ‘Religion Is Fear’, ‘Skin Deep’ en ‘Blind Lead The Blind’. Ook tekstueel tapt de band nog graag uit het ouderwetse (linkse) sociaal-politieke vaatje, maar daarop zullen we misschien in deze tijden van economische crisis niet ingaan?

De plaat is voorzien van een vette productie die alle instrumenten in hun waarde laat. De ontelbare line-up wissels hebben de band niet altijd goed gedaan, maar op ‘Law of Retaliation’ klinkt alles behoorlijk op elkaar ingespeeld. Het is vooral lang geleden dat de duo-zang van Phil Vane en Dean Jones nog eens zo goed uit de verf kwam. In ‘Parasites’ en ‘Rotten To The Core’ klinken ze werkelijk als een bende losgeslagen gekken. De energie spat dan ook van de plaat af. De gitaarriffs en het razende drumwerk verrassen natuurlijk al lang niet meer, maar moeten we werkelijk over alles klagen? Extreme Noise Terror bewijst op dit album vooral dat het een band met ballen is die de fans trouw blijft. Alleen daarvoor verdienen ze alle respect en de fans kunnen ‘Law Of Retaliation’ dan ook blind aanschaffen!


1. Believe What I Say (2:44)
2. Religion Is Fear (1:45)
3. Spit on Your Dreams (1:58)
4. Skin Deep (1:29)
5. Blind Lead the Blind (1:53)
6. Short Fuse (2:07)
7. Chasing Shadows (2:00)
8. Human Waste (1:23)
9. Rat Hell (1:47)
10. Enslaved in Darkness (1:33)
11. Nothing No More (1:52)
12. Parasites (1:27)
13. Revenge (2:21)
14. Rotten to the Core (1:43)
15. Low Life (1:35)
16. Against the Grain (1:37)
17. Screaming Fucking Mayhem (2:46)
18. Death Message (2:47)
19. Divided & Ruled (1:57)


Phil Vane: vocals
Dean Jones: vocals
Woody: lead guitars
Ollie: guitars
Staff: bass
Mic: drums

Geplaatst door Vera op woensdag 03 juni 2009 - 19:24:44
Reageren is uitgeschakeld








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

01. CD reviews 2021
With respect for the late Negru!
01. CD reviews 2021
THE TEA PARTY: Blood Moon Rising
Exceptional A class as usual!
01. CD reviews 2021
AEPHANEMER: A Dream Of Wilderness
A seminal self-willed band...
01. CD reviews 2021
Simply brilliant, their best album so far!
01. CD reviews 2021
SWALLOW THE SUN: Moonflowers
A world of grief and beauty...

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -