Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007
2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007
2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.



woensdag 08 maart 2017

Release: 2017-01-27
Style: psychedelic doom
Label: /
Country: Italy
Playing Time: 39’17”
Cat. N°: SSR094
Review by: Guy
Translated by: Guy
Rating: 7/10


Following last year’s debut, these Italians return with their sophomore album. Five new tracks, followed by the ‘Black Magic Man’ EP.

‘Come A Little Closer’ opens with plodding slow doom breathing heavily seventies and is followed by a cover of Blue Öyster Cult’s ‘Godzilla’, that comes nowhere near the original, though the psychedelic break is nice. ‘Set Me Free’ stays sombre, but is rather hard rock with some fine riffing, while Virginia uses her voice in a more versatile way and a fine solo is embedded. ‘Wicked Dream’ begins with a darkly recited spell and turns out to be, in very psychedelic doom way, the most diverse song of this album, while ‘Dark Lord’ continues in the same way. Then we get ‘Angela’, from their ‘Black Magic Man’ EP, a bit more lighter in nature, while ‘Iron’ is a fine sombre ballad like track. The title track from that EP is a heavier, more blues piece, in which Virginia’s voice reminded me again (as on their debut) of the singer of Shocking Blue. As longest track, ‘Slave of Grief’ closes in an equally fine mix of blues and doom larded with some fine guitar and a heavier finale.

Fine retro seventies hard rock, but their debut was more convincing.


Na hun debuut vorig jaar keren de Italianen terug met de opvolger. Vijf nieuwe nummers, gevolgd door hun ‘Black Magic Man’ EP.

‘Come A Little Closer’ opent met slepend trage doom die erg seventies ademt en wordt gevolgd door een cover van Blue Öyster Cult’s ‘Godzilla’, dat echter niet aan het origineel kan tippen, al heeft het een mooie psychedelische break. ‘Set Me Free’ blijft somber maar is eerder hardrock met wat lekkere riffs, terwijl Virginia meer afwisseling in haar stem gebruikt en er een fikse solo inzit. ‘Wicked Dream’ begint met een donker gedeclameerde spreuk en wordt, in erg psychedelische doom wateren, het meest gevarieerde nummer van de schijf, terwijl ‘Dark Lord’ in hetzelfde straatje blijft. Dan komt ‘Angela’, van hun ‘Black Magic Man’ EP, iets lichtvoetiger van aard, terwijl ‘Iron’ een fijne sombere ballade is. Het titelnummer van die EP is een stevige, meer bluesy brok, waarin Virginia’s stem me weer (zoals op hun debuut) aan de zangeres van Shocking Blue deed denken. Als langste song sluit ‘Slave Of Grief’ af met een even goeie mix van blues en doom doorspekt met lekker gitaarwerk en een stevige finale.

Best lekkere seventies retro hardrock, maar het debuut was overtuigender.


Come A Little Closer (4’14”)
Godzilla (Blue Oyster Cult) (4’17”)
Set Me Free (4’18”)
Wicked Dream (4’15”)
The Dark Lord (3’27”)
Angela (5’00”)
Lying On Iron (4’18”)
Black Magic Man (3’52”)
Slave Of Grief (5’36”)


Virginia Monti – vocals
Jacopo Fallai – guitars
Riccardo Giuffré – bass
Daniela Parella - drums

Geplaatst door Vera op woensdag 08 maart 2017 - 16:52:49
Reageren is uitgeschakeld








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

01. CD reviews 2017
Tastes for more! Smart move!
01. CD reviews 2017
LETHE: The First Corpse On The Moon
Interesting and compelling mix of styles!
01. CD reviews 2017
WHITE WILLOW: Future Hopes
Quite a personal approach of progressive rock...
01. CD reviews 2017
EDEN WEINT IM GRAB: Nachtodreise
Excellent dark gothic with soundtrack allures...
01. CD reviews 2017
FALLS OF RAUROS: Vigilance Perennial
Fine Cascadian black metal...

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -