Short List

Reviews, Interviews & Concertreviews
2017 / 2016 / 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007
2013 / 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007
2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007

Geen gebeurtenissen deze maand.


woensdag 15 februari 2017

Release: 2017-01-27
Style: AOR /melodic rock
Facebook: /
Country: USA
Playing Time: 54’07”
Cat. N°: FR CD 768
Review by: Guy
Translated by: Guy
Rating: 9/10


The band Jim Peterik, once founder of Survivor, gathered delivers with ‘Fearless’ its fifth album since 2003.

‘All I See Is You’ is a strong opening track, melodic with catchy vocal hook and great guitar, no wonder they made a music video. ‘The Tell’ is slower, but has an even better vocal hook and allows Toby to use his voice at the fullest. ‘Caricature’ is a rocker, ‘Silent’ slower, while the title track is fierce hard rock with catchy vocal lines, but they all breathe polished power. Then ‘Everlasting’ is a more than fine ballad and ‘Freedom’ continues in that vein, though it turns more up tempo halfway the song, while Toby explores his vocal range. ‘Light’ starts again quiet with nice piano and gets tougher along the way with great guitar solo. Even when mellowing down, Pride Of Lions never gets tedious. Then ‘Rising Up’ is a catchy piece of hard rock, while ‘silence’ alternates some ballad with rock, melody and strong vocal lines. ’Prayer’ is sober, keyboard driven and spine chilling, while the closer is another great ballad with vocal hook.

Damned strong AOR stuff!


De band rond Jim Peterik, die ooit Survivor oprichtte, is met ‘Fearless’ aan zijn vijfde album sinds 2003 toe.

‘All I See Is You’ is een sterke opener, melodieus met catchy vocal hook en prachtige gitaar, geen wonder dat ze er een clip voor maakten. ‘The Tell’ is trager, maar heeft nog betere vocal hook en geeft Toby de gelegenheid zijn stem ten volle te gebruiken. ‘Caricature’ is een rocker, ‘Silent’ trager, terwijl het titelnummer stevige hard rock brengt met vocal hooks, maar gepolijste kracht ademen ze allen uit. Daarna is ‘Everlasting’ een meer dan fijne ballade en ‘Freedom’ gaat verder in dat straatje, hoewel het halverwege meer uptempo gaat, terwijl Toby zijn vocaal bereik verkend. ‘Light’ begint weer rustig met mooie piano om allengs steviger te worden met prima gitaarsolo. Zelfs wanneer ze het kalmer aan doen, wordt Pride Of Lions nooit melig. Daarna is ‘Rising Up’ een catchy brok hard rock, terwijl ‘Silence’ wat ballad alterneert met rock, melodie en sterke zanglijnen. ‘Prayer’ is bezadigd, keyboard gestuwd en garandeert kippenvel, terwijl de afsluiter weer een mooie ballad is met vocale hook.

Verdomd sterk AOR materiaal!


All I See Is You (4’01”)
The Tell (4’44”)
In Caricature (4’08”)
Silent Music (4’18”)
Fearless (4’45”)
Everlasting Love (4’15”)
Freedom of the Night (5’20”)
The Light In Your Eyes (4’35”)
Rising Up (3’39”)
The Silence Says It All (4’27”)
Faster Than A Prayer (4’52”)
Unmasking The Mystery (5’04”)


Jim Peterik – vocals, guitar, keyboards
Toby Hitchcock – vocals
Mike Aquino - guitars
Klem Hayes – bass
Christian Cullen - keyboards
Ed Breckenfeld - drums

Geplaatst door Vera op woensdag 15 februari 2017 - 20:43:19
Reageren is uitgeschakeld








Vergeet me niet

[ ]
[ ]
[ ]
Cd & Dvd Reviews

01. CD reviews 2017
GENTLE KNIFE: II Clock Unwound
Vintage progrock brilliance!
01. CD reviews 2017
STALLION: From The Dead
Great stuff for aficionados of speed!
01. CD reviews 2017
SILVER DUST: The Age Of Decadence
Not original, but quite okay...
01. CD reviews 2017
NEUN WELTEN: The Sea I'm Diving In
Serene dive into musical neo folk waters...
01. CD reviews 2017
THE PRIVATEER: The Goldsteen Lay
Great folk metal album with power!

Zoeken Metal-Nose

Date / Time

Verwijs naar ons

Verwijs naar ons
Website in order to promote heavy-metal & hard-rock to a broader audience in Flanders but also in the entire world.
No part from this website may be used in any other publication whether in print or on the world wide web without the editor's consent.
All material is exclusive to Metal-Nose and copyright protected. All rights reserved. Copyright © Metal-Nose 20/05/2004. -